

Appeals Sub-Committee (School Transport)

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE (SCHOOL TRANSPORT) MEETING HELD ON 9 AUGUST 2023 AT KENNET ROOM - COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Allison Bucknell, Cllr Adrian Foster and Cllr Elizabeth Threlfall

1 **Election of Chairman**

Cllr Allison Bucknell was elected as Chairman for this appeal only.

Cllr Allison Bucknell in the Chair.

2 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

3 Minutes

The minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 15 June 2023 were presented for consideration and it was;

Resolved:

To approve the minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 15 June 2023.

4 <u>Meeting Procedure</u>

The Chairman outlined the meeting procedure as detailed in the agenda.

5 **Exclusion of the press and public**

The panel considered whether to hold the meeting in closed session and it was:

Resolved:

To exclude members of the press and public for the business specified in Item no. 6 in accordance with section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, (paragraph 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act).

6 School Transport Appeal

The panel heard representations and replies from the Transport Officer and the appellant and asked questions of the parties involved. Upon consideration of this information:

Decision:

The Panel considered all the evidence provided, the Transport Officer's report, and the statutory legal guidance and policy of Wiltshire Council and decided that the policy had been correctly applied by the Transport Officer.

The Panel considered the facts presented by the Appellant in regard to the exceptional circumstances of the case and decided that they did not justify a departure from Wiltshire Council's policy.

(Duration of meeting: 1.00pm - 2.20pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Max Hirst of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718215, e-mail Max.Hirst@wiltshire.gov.uk
Press enquiries to Communications, direct line 01225 713114 or email communications@wiltshire.gov.uk